

ELECTORAL COMMISSION FOR SIERRA LEONE (ECSL) O. A. Drive, Tower Hill



Freetown

PRESS STATEMENT

DECLARATION OF RESULTS FOR THE CONDUCT OF PARAMOUNT CHIEF MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT (PCMP) ELECTIONS HELD ON SATURDAY 20TH MAY 2023

In the exercise of powers conferred upon it by Sections 33, 72, and 74 (1) (a) of the Constitution of Sierra Leone 1991, (Act No. 6 of 1991); and pursuant to Section 98 to 101 of the Public Elections Act, 2022 (Act No. 17 of 2022), the Electoral Commission for Sierra Leone hereby publish the following:

Nominations for Paramount Chief Members of Parliament elections were held from Friday 31st March — Saturday 1st April 2023 in the following districts:

Sn	Region	District	
1	EAST	Kailahun	
2		Kenema	
3		Kono	
4	NORTH	Bombali	
4		Falaba	
5		Koinadugu	
7		Tonkolili	
8		Kambia	
9	NORTH-WEST	Karene	
10		Port Loko	
11	SOUTH	Во	
12		Bonthe	
13		Moyamba	
14		Pujehun	

After close of Candidate Nominations for Paramount Chief Members of Parliament in Kailahun, Kono, Karene, Tonkolili, Port Loko, Bo and Moyamba Districts, one candidate went through the process successfully. For Paramount Chief Members of Parliament nominations in Kenema and Koinadugu Districts, there were candidate withdrawals which resulted in only one candidate remaining in each of the said districts.

The Paramount Chief Members of Parliament elections were therefore conducted in the respective chiefdom headquarter towns on Saturday 20th May 2023 in the following districts:

Sn	Region	District
1		Bombali
2	North	Falaba
3	North-West	Kambia
4	South	Bonthe
5		Pujehun

Candidates' Agents, National Observers, Office of National Security (ONS), and the Media observed the Paramount Chief Members of Parliament elections conducted at polling stations in the respective chiefdom headquarters. The Sierra Leone Police provided the required security.

ANALYSIS OF RESULTS

PCMP Bombali District

Analysis of the results for the PCMP elections in Bombali District is as follows:

- Twenty-Three (23) polling station results were entered into the result database, representing 100 % of all polling stations in the District.
- The voter turnout was 2,702 out of a voter register of 6,900; giving a percentage turnout of 39.2%;
- The total number of valid votes cast was 2,584;
- There were 118 invalid votes, representing 4.37% of the total votes cast.
- The results are as follows:

Bombali District

Two (2) Paramount Chief Members of Parliament candidates contested the election as follows:

Region	District	Name of Candidate	Total Valid Votes obtained	%
North	Bombali	PC KALAWA III Salifu Mannah,	954	36.9
		PC KIEHA III Kandeh Baba,	1,630	63.1

Falaba District

Analysis of the results for the PCMP election in Falaba District is as follows:

- Twenty-two (22) polling station results were entered into the result database, representing 100% of all polling stations in the district.
- The voter turnout was **4,229** out of a voter register of **6,150**; giving a percentage turnout of **68.8%**;
- The total number of valid votes cast was 4,017;
- There were 212 invalid votes, representing 5.0% of the total votes cast.
- The results are as follows:

Six (6) Paramount Chief Members of Parliament candidates contested the election as follows:

Region	District	Name of Candidate	Total Valid Votes Obtained	%
		PC JAWARA II	879	21.9
		Manga Sorie Konko,		
		PC KAMARA II	265	6.6
		Alhaji Fenda Modu		
		PC MARRAH II	421	10.5
North	Falaba	Mohamed Saio B.G.		
		Balleh,		
		PC MARRAH III	570	14.2
		Fasalie Kulako Demba,		
		PC MARRAH III	1,184	29.5
		Thor Thor Sheku T.T.N.K.		
		Fonkola,		

PC Samura IV	700	17.4
Manga Salifu Salito (DR)		

Kambia District

Analysis of the results for the PCMP election in Kambia District is as follows:

- Thirty-two (32) polling station results were entered into the result database, representing 100% of all polling stations in the district.
- The voter turnout was **5,981** out of a voter register of **9,200**; giving a percentage turnout of **65.0%**;
- The total number of valid votes cast was 5,636;
- There were 345 invalid votes, representing 5.8% of the total votes cast.
- The results are as follows:

Two (2) Paramount Chief Members of Parliament candidates contested the election as follows:

Region	District	Name of Candidate	Total Valid Votes Obtained	%
North- West	Kambia	PC NGBAK IV Bai Farama Tass Bubu,	3,479	61.7
		PC KABBA Sedu Kandeh,	2,157	38.3

Bonthe District

Analysis of the results for the PCMP election in the Bonthe District is as follows:

- Twenty-one (21) polling station results were entered into the result database, representing 100% of all polling stations in the district.
- The voter turnout was **4,852** out of a voter register of **5,900**; giving a percentage turnout of **82.1**%;
- The total number of valid votes cast was 4,736;
- There were 106 invalid votes, representing 2.2% of the total votes cast.
- The results are as follows:

Three (3) Paramount Chief Members of Parliament candidates contested the election as follows:

Region	District	Name of Candidate	Total Valid Votes Obtained	%
South	Bonthe	PC BIO Prince Lansana,	2,374	50.1

PC KAINPUMU Alex J.J.	1,432	30.2
Maada,		10.6
PC SHERIFF Alie Badara,	930	19.6

Pujehun District

Analysis of the results for the PCMP election in Pujehun District is as follows:

- Thirty-three (33) polling station results were entered into the result database, representing 100% of all polling stations in the district.
- The voter turnout was 6,441 out of a voter register of 9,300; giving a percentage turnout of 69.3%;
- The total number of valid votes cast was 6,295;
- There were 146 invalid votes, representing 2.27% of the total votes cast.
- The results are as follows:

Two (2) Paramount Chief Members of Parliament candidates contested the election as follows:

Region	District	Name of Candidate	Total Valid Votes Obtained	%
South	Pujehun	PC KEBBIE III Brima Victor Sidi,	4,914	78.1
		PC SOWA II	1,381	21.9
		Lahai A. K.,		

In exercise, therefore, of the powers conferred on it as the Electoral Commission for Sierra Leone by Sections 33, 72, and 74(l)(a) of the Constitution of Sierra Leone, 1991 (Act No. 6 of 1991); and pursuant to Sections 68 and 98 of the Public Elections Act, 2022 (Act No. 17 of 2012) and Sections 28 and 10 of the Paramount Chieftaincy Act, 2009 (Act No. 10 of 2009), the Electoral Commission for Sierra Leone hereby declares the following, who

have polled the highest number of valid votes cast, the duly elected Paramount Chief Members of Parliament for their respective Districts:

Region	District	Name of Candidate	Total Valid Votes obtained	%
North	Bombali	PC KIEHA III Kandeh Baba	1630	63.1
	Falaba	PC MARRAH III Thor Thor Sheku T.T.N.K. Fonkola,	1,184	29.5
North- West	Kambia	PC NGBAK IV Bai Farama Tass Bubu,	3,479	61.7
South	Bonthe	PC BIO Prince Lansana,	2,374	50.1
	Pujehun	PC KEBBIE III Brima Victor Sidi,	4,914	78.1

The Commission wishes you a successful tenure in office.

Signed and dated this 26th day of May 2023.

Mohamed Kenewui Konneh

Chief Electoral Commissioner and Chairman

National Returning Officer