



OAU Drive, Tower Hill, Freetown

27th June, 2023

## <u>Statement from the Chief Electoral Commissioner, Chairperson and National</u> <u>Returning Officer of the Electoral Commission for Sierra Leone on the Presidential</u> <u>Election Results held on 24th June, 2023</u>

- 1. IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred on it by Sections 33, 42(2)(e) and 38A (as amended) of the Constitution of Sierra Leone, 1991 (Act No. 6 of 1991) and pursuant to Sections 7 and 68 (1) of the Public Elections Act, 2022 (Act No.17 of 2022), the Electoral Commission for Sierra Leone (ECSL) conducted a Presidential election on 24th June, 2023.
- 2. Both the polls and tallying processes were observed by political parties' agents, various National and International Observation Missions/Groups, Embassies and the Media.
- 3. The Results:
- **11,712** polling station results were entered into the result database, representing **98.98%** of all polling stations across the country.
- The national turnout is **2,800,691** representing **83** % of all registered voters.
- The total number of valid votes cast is **2,789,808**
- The total number of invalid votes cast is **10,883** representing 0.39 % of the votes cast
- A total number **120** polling stations were not entered into the Result Database due to either being tampered with and therefore quarantined at Regional Tally Centres; or unavailability of Result Forms caused by violence at identified polling stations.
- The above outstanding results cannot materially affect the outcome of the final Presidential election results.
- Details of the results at polling stations will be posted on the ECSL website at https://ec.gov.sl/
- A full breakdown of the results by districts is attached to this statement.

4. Below is the total number of votes obtained by each Presidential candidate:

SN	Name of Candidate	Political Party	Total Number valid Votes obtained	Percentage of valid votes
1	BAH MOHAMED CHERNOH	National Democratic Alliance (NDA)	21,620	0.77
2	BIO JULIUS MAADA	Sierra Leone Peoples Party (SLPP)	1,566,932	56.17
3	COKER PRINCE	Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)	5,981	0.21
4	JONJO MOHAMED	Citizens Democratic Party (CDP)	2367	0.08
5	KABUTA SAA TURAY	United National Peoples Party (UNPP)	4,059	0.15
6	ΚΑΚΑΥ ΙΥΕ	Alliance Democratic Party (ADP)	4,336	0.16
7	KAMARA NABIEU HENRY	Peace and Liberation Party (PLP)	7,717	0.28
8	KAMARA SAMURA MATHEW WILSON	All Peoples Congress (APC)	1,148,262	41.16
9	MARGAI CHARLES FRANCIS	Peoples Movement for Democratic Change (PMDC)	16,012	0.57
10	SACCOH ABDULAI DOUGAKORO	Revolutionary United Front Party (RUFP)	6,796	0.24
11	SANDY JONATHAN PATRICK	National Unity and Reconciliation Party (NURP)	1,369	0.05
12	SOWA-TURAY MOHAMED	United Democratic Movement (UDM)	1,665	0.06
13		Republic National Independent Party (ReNIP)	1	
	WILLIAMS BERESFORD VICTOR		2,692	0.10
TOTAL VALID VOTES CAST			2,789,808	100

۳

a 1



- 5. Therefore, by the powers vested in me as the National Returning Officer by Section 67, 51(2) and 92(4) of the Public Elections Act, 2022 (Act No.17 of 2022) and pursuant to section 42(2)(e) of the Constitution of Sierra Leone, 1991 (Act No. 6 of 1991), I hereby certify that BIO, JULIUS MAADA, having polled 1,566,932 of valid votes cast representing 56.17 % of total valid votes cast in the 24<sup>th</sup> June, 2023 Presidential election duly elected President of the Republic of Sierra Leone.
- 6. Any citizen who has lawfully voted in this election may challenge the validity of the said election of the President by petition to the Supreme Court of Sierra Leone within seven days after the declaration of Presidential result pursuant to Section 54(1) of the Public Elections Act, 2022 (Act No.17 of 2022).

ON FOR Mohamed Kenewui Konneh

Chief Electoral Commissioner/Chairman National Returning Officer

1