Close this search box.

About Us


Our Story

Sierra Leone has always had an election management body called Electoral Commission. Even during periods of military rule, when electoral activities were suspended, the technical and support staff were maintained, thus making it possible to build a reservoir of experience in election administration within the institution. The President appoints all members of the Commission, after consultation with all registered Political Parties and subject to the approval of parliament.

The tenure of office of the Commissioners is five years, and their terms and conditions of service are prescribed by parliament. The Commission was renamed National Electoral Commission (NEC), following the passing of the NEC Act 2002. The Act empowers the Commission to appoint its own staff. The Commission is currently undergoing a restructuring process, which began in 2005. Before this time, Civil Servants recruited by the Public Service Commission (PSC) staffed the Commission. At the start of the current restructuring process, the Commission returned all its then Civil Servants to the Establishment Secretary’s Office. This was followed by the recruitment of new staff in a transparent and competitive manner, and trained into a professional staff.

Short History of The Electoral Commission of Sierra Leone

By Mohamed N. Conteh



Vision Statement

The vision of the Electoral Commission for Sierra Leone (ECSL) is that of an independent, credible, and well-resourced institution that promotes democracy and good governance by continually administering credible elections that meet international standards and best practices.

Mission Statement

The Mission of the Electoral Commission for Sierra Leone (ECSL) is to conduct all public elections and referenda, register all eligible voters, demarcate constituency boundaries and make regulations for the efficient execution of its functions in promoting sustainable Democracy and Good Governance.

Be in Touch with ECSL Guiding Principles

The Electoral Commission for Sierra Leone (ECSL) Guiding Principles are the CORE VALUES of The Commission that can not be compromise for anyone.

ECSL HQ, O.A.U Tower Hill Freetown

The Commission shall take full responsibility for its activities and will always be answerable to the people of Sierra Leone and its partners.

The Commission shall endeavour to win the confidence and trust of all Sierra Leoneans and the international community through the quality of its services.

The Commission shall ensure that it operates freely on its own best judgment, without taking directives from or being controlled by any person or authority.

The Commission will carry out its activities in an honest and truthful manner, and will take all reasonable measures to prevent wilful wrongdoing by its officials.

The Commission shall always be nonpartisan and fair in all its activities.

The Commission shall endeavour to have a well-trained, professionally competent, motivated and confident staff, dedicated to the delivery of trustworthy elections.

The Commission shall be open at all times in dealing with all stakeholders in the electoral process.

Meet Our Indispensable Commissioners

Mohamed Kenewui Konneh


Mr. Mohamed Kenewui Konneh is a Sierra Leonean; born on the 13th November, 1967. Mr. Mohamed Kenewui Konneh, Chief electoral Commissioner and Chairman Electoral Commission for Sierra Leone (ECSL), is a human and material resources managerial expert that has over 20 years of extensive practical and strategic experience in investigating corruption, procurement fraud, money laundering, management and administration and promoting good governance at national (Sierra Leone) and regional levels (Africa). The Chief electoral commissioner and chairman has an oversight responsibilities for supervising Ethics, Finance, ICT, Data Management, Audit and Legal departments for the Commission.


Edmond Sylvester Alpha

Electoral Commissioner - South

The oversight commissioner responsible for supervising Operations, Procurement and External Relations departments for the Commission.


Abubakarr Mahmoud Koroma

Electoral Commissioner - North

previously Director of Admin and has years of experience as EMB Operations/Admin Officer. Served as District Electoral Officer, Bo district for years 


Marian Sia Nyuma-Moijueh

Electoral Commissioner - East

The oversight commissioner for supervising Human Resources, Training, Gender and Admin departments for the Commission.


Albert Samba Kanu

Electoral Commissioner - North West

Commissioner Albert Samba Kanu has a good achievement record while serving in the National Social Security and Insurance Trust (NASSIT), the record shows he is fit for ECSL job. 


Zainab Umu Moseray

Electoral Commissioner - West

the oversight Commissioner responsible for the overall supervision and control of the Research, Voter Education and Media departments for the Commission.


Meet Our Dedicated Secretariat Team

The Executive Secretary shall be responsible to the Commission for the:
  • Day-to-day administration of the affairs of the Commission;
  • Recording and keeping of minutes of meetings of the Commission; and
  • Supervision and discipline of the staff of the Commission.
The Fifteen (15) departments are headed by Directors. The Directors are supported by Assistant Directors, Senior Electoral Officers, Election officers Assistant Electoral Officers, Administrative Assistants, Drivers and Office Assistants.

Sheku C. Johnny

Assistant Executive Secretary I

Gladys N. John

Assistant Executive Secretary II

Meet Our Dedicated Management Team

Meet our management team whose diligence, dedication and commitment are core to ECSL operations.

Paul John Simbo

Assistant Director, Ethics Unit

Please highlight and press Ctrl + C to copy.

Scroll to Top